top of page

Feel Like A Bum, Look Like A Model



Shop the look: Coach Outlet


As a curvy, not quite plus size girl, when I'm shopping or trying to decide what I am going to wear, comfort has become the number one priority. So I told myself that if I were to decide I want to live in sweats every day, like how I've been during this quarantine, then I have to at least make it look like something versus looking like I'm slumming it all the time.


The trick to taking your sweats from zero to a hundred is literally the simplest thing ever that literally anyone can do. I was thinking about it as my mom was criticizing my outfit for running errands. It was me in a pair of oversized Under Armour sweats, my current fave, and a white crop top under my denim pinned jacket. My moms complaint was


"why must your stomach be out if you're just going to the grocery store?"


So I began to explain to her that it wasn't about me having my stomach out, and quite honestly it's something I don't even think about anymore, but I just noticed over time that adding a crop top with a pair of sweats somehow makes it look like you put in ten times more effort and thought into it. And it's obviously still comfortable, especially during the warmer season when you're trying to wear less material and sweat anyway haha.



But let's say crop tops aren't your thing, or you just ate a delicious burger and that food belly is not what you want to be advertising then there's another way. The year is 2020 and a logo seems to be worth more than the brand itself. Wearing sweats repping any well known brand, whether it be Supreme or Champion, having a name somewhere on the fit makes it a fashion piece and no longer looks like your middle school gym sweats. It's really easy to find name brand sweats when thrifting so that you don't have to break the bank. If you live near an Outlet Mall this is another great way to save on the usually expensive stuff. There's always a deal, especially on staple pieces, that you don't have to worry about going out of style and being a waste of money.


Lastly, the best way to up your lounging game is a nice matching or monochromatic set. Again, this comes down to how much effort and thought it looks like you put into the look, and having a matching set or putting pieces together of the same color automatically gives the illusion of effort. That you took the time to try and put colors together besides just grabbing the first shirt that touches your hand, because we all know how that goes. The plus side is that monochrome looks are also very much on trend so you would definitely look like an off duty model. To get some ideas on how to do monochrome, check out my #TikTok I put together featuring exactly that. https://vm.tiktok.com/K4W98f/


Of course there's nothing wrong with just throwing any and everything on, especially if you aren't going anywhere. Just a few things to keep in mind the next time you're running errands or want to take a quick mirror selfie!




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page